

Subject	Membership of the Local Pension Board	Status	For Publication
Report to	Local Pension Board	Date	23 July 2020
Report of	Deputy Clerk		
Equality Impact Assessment	Not Required	Attached	No
Contact Officer	Gill Richards	Phone	01226 772806
E Mail	grichards@syjs.gov.uk		

1. Purpose of the Report

1.1 To update the membership of the Board.

2 Recommendation

- 2.1 Members of the Local Pension Board are recommended to:
 - a. Note the revisions to the membership of the Board.

3. <u>Link to Corporate Objectives</u>

3.1 This report links to the delivery of the following corporate objectives:

Effective and Transparent Governance

To uphold effective governance showing prudence and propriety at all times.

It is important that the Pensions Authority as Scheme Manager ensures the Board has a stable membership to enable the Board to operate in an effective way.

4. <u>Implications for the Corporate Risk Register</u>

4.1 The actions outlined in this report seek to address the risk contained in the corporate risk register that the degree of instability in the membership of the Board impacts on its effectiveness in fulfilling its role leading to the risk of intervention by the Pensions Regulator.

5. Background and Options

5.1 Following the resignation of Cllr Tony Damms and the early retirement of Kevin Morgan, Sheffield CC have appointed Cllr Mike Chaplin to the Board and Unite have appointed Danny Gawthorpe.

5.2 The table below shows the current membership of the Board.

		Date of Appointment
Cllr Mike Chaplin (Sheffield CC)	Local Authority Councillor	April 2020
Cllr Tosh McDonald (Doncaster MBC)	Local Authority Councillor	July 2019
Rob Fennessy (South Yorkshire Police)	'Other Large Employer'	April 2019
Nicola Gregory (Minerva Learning Trust)	Academy	January 2018
Steve Loach (Head of Finance, Barnsley MBC)	1 Local Authority Senior Manager	October 2019
Nicola Doolan-Hamer (Unison)	Trades Union	July 2015
Danny Gawthorpe (Unite)	Trades Union	June 2020
Garry Warwick (GMB)	Trades Union	July 2015
Andrew Gregory	Scheme Member	July 2019
David Webster	Scheme Member	October 2019

5.3 Note: The Local Authority Councillors are rotated every two years; all other appointments are for three years. A member may serve a maximum of two terms of office.

6. <u>Implications</u>

6.1 The proposals outlined in this report have the following implications.

Financial	None
Human	None
Resources	
ICT	None
Legal	None
Procurement	None

Gill Richards
Senior Democratic Services Officer

Martin McCarthy Deputy Clerk

Background Papers		
Document	Place of Inspection	